Skip Navigation LinksHome > About > Barbecue Hall of Fame®

Barbecue Hall of Fame®


The Barbecue Hall of Fame® exists to recognize, document and preserve the heritage of barbecue in our world. It identifies and honors the evolving history and traditions of barbecue, as well as educates its audiences. Election into the Barbecue Hall of Fame at the American Royal is barbecue’s top honor and recognizes the significant contributions to the advancement of barbecue by individuals in the competitive, business and entertainment communities. The Barbecue Hall of Fame also serves to promote and encourage the growth and public support of barbecue by providing official and public recognition honoring individuals, who by extraordinary achievement and service, have made outstanding and significant contributions to barbecue as a hobby, sport, and/or culinary experience.

In 2012, seven former inductees were recognized during the American Royal World Series of Barbecue Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. They included Rich Davis, Fred Gould, Speed Herrig, Mike Mills, Carolyn Wells, Gary Wells and John Willingham. 
These barbecue pioneers are joined each year by three new inductees that demonstrate a crowning achievement in barbecue excellence in three distinct categories. These inductees are chosen and honored from the following categories: Business/Industry, Pitmaster, and Celebrity/Humanitarian.    

2012 Barbecue Hall of Fame Class
Henry Ford, Business/Industry
Johnny Trigg, Pitmaster
Guy Fieri, Celebrity/Humanitarian

2013 Barbecue Hall of Fame Class
George A. Stephen Sr., Business/Industry
Myron Mixon, Pitmaster
Adam Perry Lang, Celebrity/Humanitarian
The 2014 Inductees will be honored during the Barbecue Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony which will take place during the American Royal World Series of Barbecue® on Saturday, October 4, 2014.

Learn More about Hall of Fame Inductees:

Past Inductees

2013 Inductees